Church – Design and Carvings
The bench ends are also of exceptional interest being of 15th century date with arcaded and traceried carvings. In the 18th century the North aisle was filled with a number of boxed pews which were eventually dismantled and used for the construction of the present seating and panelling during the 1928 restoration.
Formerly there was a gallery at the West end for the musicians and choir. The front corbels of this still remain in position.
The pulpit bears the date 1638 and was formerly a ‘three-decker’ with low seats for a reading desk and for the parish clerk. Its structure is rather curious in that it stems from a single small leg and it retains its neat canopy above.
The chancel arch is quite unique and is of early English 13th century date and design.
The rood stairway which originally led to the rood loft is entered by a small door behind the pulpit. The stairway and its small window were uncovered by the Reverend Marriot during the 1928 restoration and he found indications that they had originally been built on the North side and probably been moved when the aisle was built.
The porch stands on the South side and has a good recessed inner doorway. There are two stone heads and a holy water stoop all of which, however, are much mutilated.